8 months removed from 2 level fusion and 2 disk replacement, hurt worse than before.

                In November I had a 2 level fusion at L4-L5 and L5-S1, plus 2 disks replaced. I am in more pain now than I was before. That was of course a possible outcome, but the surgeon and other doctors thought it would work out better. Unfortunately it did not.

I did several months of aqua therapy and did not improve at all, in fact I hurt worse after the sessions. I continued to fall and still need a cane, as well as a locking brace from groin to foot to stop me from falling. Both of my knees hurt, as well as both ankles and my right heel. I continue to get muscle spasms, hips continue to hurt and my butt cheeks hurt as well. I have seen zero improvement and believe my pain is worse.

I really don’t blame this surgeon, the surgeons before screwed up the groundwork and even said I would never get better. I guess they were right. I think they butchered my back, but Pennsylvania only takes the Doctors side. If you are contemplating back surgery, get several opinions. I could not, I was on Workers Compensation, what a joke that is. I will never be able to work again. There is no light at the end of that tunnel. That is my update, I hope others feel better. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

