Aqua therapy, the pain continues.

           I have been going to aqua therapy for about 2 months. Just for background, November 12, 2012 I had a 2 level fusion and 2 disks replaced. That was the culmination of 6 surgeries over about a 4 year period. I have nerve damage that causes pain in my right leg and also causes me to fall. In short, it sucks.

             6 days ago my right heel started to hurt, which is odd because I usually only feel the nerve pain. I stub my toe and I don’t even feel it. The tuetapist said ( pardon my spelling) I was experiencing plantar faciatis. I am having a harder time walking, everytime my heel hits the ground it hurts quite severely. So when I went to aqua therapy I told the therapist and we started some stretching excersizes to help it. She also told me to freeze a bottle of water and place it under my foot, rolling it back and forth. It is essentially a massage fir my foot. It does not hurt quite as bad, but it is still bothering me.

            As of yesterday I started getting some sharp shooting pains in my right calf. Therapist was not sure what it was, but did inform me to call my doctor. I am sure she is worried it is a blood clot, I had a similar pain about a 2 years ago. I had a dopplar done and it turned out there wasn’t a blood clot, just nerve pain. Better safe than sorry.

                 I am a little over 5 months removed from surgery. I DO NOT FEEL ANY BETTER. In fact I feel worse than before the surgery. My back hurts horribly, leg pain is always there, quite often severe and I am still falling. I can’t walk for more than 20 or 25 minutes, while I am at aqua therapy I am in pain the whole time. I am always tired, yet I have a difficult time sleeping. I know the doctor did his best, but I believe the doctor who did the first surgery screwed me up. But I will never be sure.

Posted from WordPress for Android

4 thoughts on “Aqua therapy, the pain continues.

  1. Hi! How do you feel now? I also injured my calf and I’ve been through different therapies. The pain was on and off, but was completely healed after I had stem cell treatment. I thought that the stem cell was a joke as well, just like other medications I had. It took me 5 months to feel and see the effect of it, not to mention, I had fever for 4 days every after session. My ortho surgeon told me that the effect may vary like there are patients who were able to get the benefits of stem cell, while others didn’t get it until after 6 months. Well, it has been 2 years and 8 months now and I never had issues with my right calf anymore, even after 5KM run and I’m OK with it. I hope you will find the suitable treatment for you as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

